Definitions of world regions

Which countries make up the world regions commonly used in our charts?

Our World in Data

  • Our team defines six world regions: Africa, Asia, Europe, North America, Oceania, and South America.
  • Source: Click on “Download” → “Full data (CSV)” to download the list as a CSV file.

World Bank

  • The World Bank defines seven world regions: East Asia and Pacific, Europe and Central Asia, Latin America and Caribbean, Middle East and North Africa, North America, South Asia, and Sub-Saharan Africa.
  • Source:

World Health Organization

  • The World Health Organization defines six world regions: Africa, Americas, Eastern Mediterranean, Europe, South-East Asia, and Western Pacific.
  • Source:

United Nations

  • The United Nations' SDG framework defines eight world regions: Australia and New Zealand, Central and Southern Asia, Eastern and South-Eastern Asia, Europe and Northern America, Latin America and the Caribbean, Northern Africa and Western Asia, Oceania, and Sub-Saharan Africa.
  • Source:

Maddison Project Database

  • The Maddison Project Database defines eight world regions: East Asia, Eastern Europe, Latin America, Middle East and North Africa, South and South East Asia, Sub Saharan Africa, Western Europe, and Western offshoots.
  • Source:
Our World in Data logo

Reuse this work freely

All visualizations, data, and code produced by Our World in Data are completely open access under the Creative Commons BY license. You have the permission to use, distribute, and reproduce these in any medium, provided the source and authors are credited.

The data produced by third parties and made available by Our World in Data is subject to the license terms from the original third-party authors. We will always indicate the original source of the data in our documentation, so you should always check the license of any such third-party data before use and redistribution.

All of our charts can be embedded in any site.